It’s about time…

It’s about time I came back with my race reports!

Standard distance race report:

Swim = Horrible

Bike = OK

Run = Walk

Enticer superhero race report: Fun, fun, fun.

 

The swim was two laps with a short run (walk) along the beach between each lap. There was a massive swell. Someone said 1.8m. The waves weren’t breaking on us but they were stopping me from swimming. I don’t get much practice with waves or chop in my local 25m indoor pool!

Two things got me through the first lap:

  • Knowing I couldn’t drown in my new super-duper wetsuit, and
  • Knowing that when I got to shore they would tell me it was too rough so they were cancelling the second lap.

received_10155391271383408

Only they didn’t tell me that. I spent 5 minutes on shore debating whether to attempt the second lap. My garmin had registered 1.1km for the first half of a 1.5km swim. I debated how many water safety peoples’ lives I would be risking by trying to go around again. Even after I waded back in to the point that I had to start swimming, I stopped. I pondered. I debated back and forth. I decided I’d spent a lot of money getting there and entering, and buying a wetsuit so I might as well try to finish.

land

I was not in as much of a hurry as the person in the green cap!

This photo is deceptive. The water looks flat. The waves were huge. I reckon that is one wave showing here from the foamy break line to the top of the water/sky horizon, not a wide expanse of water.

The second lap wasn’t quite as bad, maybe because I was telling myself I’d survived it once I could survive again, or maybe because the swell had dropped a little. I will never know. I DO know, I drank a lot of sea water in that hour. I also know that my new wetsuit was worth every cent. It did not give me any grief at all. I didn’t have to adjust it or fight against it. It was just there keeping me afloat. A far cry from the panic-inducing first wetsuit swim I did.

 

Off onto the bike. I have often joked that a benefit of being a slow swimmer is that it’s easy to find your bike in transition. Here’s proof.

Here I come. Still not in any kind of rush.

IMG_20170526_213904_043

There I go.

IMG_20170526_213904_042

The bike was okay. Because the swim took so much longer than expected my nutrition plan had to be adjusted on the fly. I had no idea what to do about all the sea water I’d swallowed. My electrolyte drink sort of burned as it passed down my salt-affected throat. Water was okay. The bike was three laps. The first time up the biggish hill, I thought “this isn’t as bad as I remember”. The second time was every bit as bad as I remembered. On the third time around I had a headwind.

FB_IMG_1495273751333

Off onto the run. Oh boy. There’s all that salt water. It was sloshing around inside my tummy making me feel ill. I kept thinking if I could stir it up enough to get it out, I’d feel great but I couldn’t push myself to that point and ended up run/walking. I walked about half. I would run until I felt sick and walk until it felt manageable.

 

I went into this race thinking it would be an easy PB over the distance given my recent training paces. I could not have been more wrong. I was slower by about the same time I thought I’d be quicker.

Although I know I have a lot of room for improvement both physically and mentally, I can see that I have come a long way mentally. Not long ago I probably would have given up at the end of the first swim lap.

 

And I most certainly would not have got back in the water that afternoon, in a costume no less, for another race. The waves were still big, but not quite as big. And the race was shorter.

IMG_2952

Superhero race entrants

The crowd was more enthusiastic out on the bike course with cheers of “go wonder woman” or variations on that theme.

IMG_20170524_161018_140

Same on the run/walk. I was encouraged to call on my super powers. I joked that they’d been taken from me for bad behaviour.

FB_IMG_1495273817832

So the day was up and down, much like the water in the swim.

Doing the superhero race with friends (we planned our matching outfits) was a fantastic way to end the season.

FB_IMG_1495273801038IMG_2949

 

I don’t know where this image came from, I saved it to my phone a long time ago. Looks like facebook according to the top right hand corner. It’s not a page I follow. It does a good job of summarising how I feel about these races.

FB_IMG_1488584873695

Because we stayed an extra night after the race we got to have a delicious late breakfast at a beachside cafe and discovered our own little Aussie slice of Egypt (sand, pyramids and camels) at Birubi Beach!

IMG_20170521_100307_046

6 responses »

  1. It was a really fun day and I think you can see the waves better on the superhero shot and trust me they were a lot smaller by then. I was scared about my race when I saw how big the waves were in your race Heather! And it was raining while you were swimming.

Leave a comment

