Time for an update 

My “year of no” is going so fast! I realised at work the other day that I only have three more fortnightly payrolls to process before the end of financial year. Again. Already. Wasn’t it Christmas last week?

With all the public holidays around Easter and Anzac Day, we took 5 days of annual leave and had a relaxing time visiting my parents at the coast for 12 beautiful days. Time for some long runs and rides without having to stress about getting to work on time. And a casual ride with Dad one afternoon.

I volunteered at their local parkrun as tailrunner on Easter weekend. It was also my birthday and some friends from Tamworth travelled over primarily to check out a new parkrun and to run with me on my birthday. It was really special.

Before that though, in early April, I had a medical appointment in Newcastle on a Monday morning so we decided to go down for the weekend so I could notch up another tourist parkrun. I went to Stockton parkrun and managed another sub 30:00 min 5km. The only one I’ve achieved since my previous post. It’s yet another beautiful, waterside location. I now have 24 different parkrun locations under my belt. Considering there are only three (including home) within a two hour drive radius of home I think that’s pretty good.

While chatting to people after parkrun, the Hill to Harbour 10km run was mentioned. It was being held the following day. I had nothing planned so I signed up! Since when did I become someone who could decide to do a 10km race the day before? It started with a long run uphill before dipping down to the harbour and finishing with a lengthy flat run. (And a 10km PB!)

At the end of April I did my first 100km bike ride on a supported ride (vehicles with warning signs). It was a long day in the saddle. I’d had several friends trying to convince me to give it a crack. I resisted a long time but eventually bowed to peer pressure and am rather pleased to have achieved it. This was at the 80km rest break.

A few of us have signed up for the Coffs Harbour version of this same ride in July (part of Cycling NSW’s #five100 series). Road trip! We have a chauffeur organised (husband of a friend) and bike racks consolidated.

Speaking of road trips, the same group of us are heading to Port Stephens Triathlon Festival this weekend. We had all signed up for the Sprint distance (750m swim/20km ride/5km run). Until yesterday when I changed my registration to the standard distance (double the sprint).

One reason was because the organisers offered free entry into a “Superhero” wave in the enticer event with any other race entry. We all signed up for that too and bought matching costumes (to wear over our trisuits). When the race schedule was released we realised we are all too slow to finish the sprint before the superhero race starts. Especially with our waves starting later. By changing to the standard race I will have time to do the superhero race with another friend from Sydney who bought a costume to match ours.

We deliberately chose one without a cape (don’t need any extra hindrances in the water) and we probably won’t bother with the mask.

Another reason for changing was the start times. The sprint starts at 1pm! The standard at 8am so I should hopefully be finished by 12pm. No afternoon running required.

The third reason for changing is that I need to get an idea of how fast I ride in a race these days over a longer distance. Because I also signed up for the LCW Jervis Bay. It’s a kind of choose your own adventure race. The swim is on the Friday, ride Saturday and run Sunday. There are a range of distances for each leg so you can do a short swim/long ride/medium run combination, or no swim or just a fun run. Whatever you like! I signed up for the full ironman distances – GULP! 3.8km swim. 180km bike ride. 42.2km run. My first marathon will be the day after a 180km hilly bike ride. My coach has her work cut out for her! My biggest concern is that I don’t currently ride fast enough to meet the 8 hour cutoff even if I don’t take any loo breaks. I haven’t mastered eating on the bike yet either. I don’t know how the ironman competitors do it. At least I know that I can have a good meal and sleep after the bike. I don’t have to run straight away.

I figured that with this being my year of “no”, now is when I’m most likely to have time to train for these bigger distances at my pace.

The medals layer over each other. One for each leg you do. And there’s a special 4th medal for everyone who completes the three longest distances. The bling might have been the deciding factor.  It will be similar to this one.

medal

(Above picture sourced from LCW Jervis Bay’s facebook page)

I’ve been astounded by the impact my mental freshness  (due to lack of commitments and deadlines) has had on my ability to focus on my training! And my nutrition but I think that’s enough for today.

What’s your biggest goal or achievement this year?

2 responses »

Leave a comment

