29:28

I can’t remember exactly when I started a C25K program for the first time. It was most likely about seven years ago. After multiple attempts, I eventually made it to the end and have kept going from there.

Fast forward to today. I finally cracked the 30 minute barrier for a 5km run at my local parkrun. It’s been a long time coming.

SUB30

There have been moments of insane jealousy when friends reached this milestone sooner. I know I should have simply been happy for them but the truth is I wasn’t. Not 100% anyway.

The support of the parkrun and triathlon communities is incredible. I would like to send a huge thank you into the universe for every post like, strava kudos, high five and comment, whether in person or online.

And if you are currently where I was, feeling jealous, wanting to “unfriend” people on facebook so you don’t have to see their fast run posts, please tick with it. You’re not alone!

PB

I am over the moon. This run topped off a pretty awesome couple of weeks for me. I did sneak in a small 30 second walk at 4.3km when I was debating whether I really wanted the sub-30 enough to keep pushing. I gave myself a stern talking to, reminding myself it was only another 5-6 minutes to the finish. Not another 2 hours like last week… so off I trotted.

And yet, I ended up with the least flattering parkrun photo I think I’ve ever had.

Sub302

I’m not sure if this was the eye-roll at the photographer for waiting at the top of a small incline, or wondering if I really wanted to keep going. This was just before my walk break.

Usually I manage to smile or wave or at least look like I’m enjoying myself. I always enjoy parkrun. It’s so friendly and encouraging. I see it as more of a social activity rather than part of my training.

5 responses »

  1. I rarely “race” a 5k. Most of my 5k races are add-on races for longer multi-race challenge events, or the final leg of a sprint triathlon. But, back in the day that I had a bit of speed, nothing was more painful then trying to PR at a 5k (or 1 mile). I would literally collapse when crossing the finish line. That never happens at longer events. I avoid 5k races for a reason…they hurt too damn much! Good job on the PR and sub-30 minute finish!

    • I rarely race them either. Now that I know I CAN go under 30 minutes, I’m not convinced I need to try every time. Thank you for your comment.

Leave a comment

