Life

At the moment, I am sitting on a bus travelling from Cardiff (Wales) to Plymouth (England). We’re reaching the tail end of a 21 day bus tour. We started in London, and travelled north into Scotland before crossing west to Northern Ireland, down into Ireland then back across the Irish Sea to Wales a couple of days ago.

image

We are enjoying the trip itself but I’ve also been seeing some “extras” because I brought my running gear. I haven’t run every morning but I’ve managed to squeeze a few outings in.

image

In July I participated in Dry July with some friends – not raising money, just for health benefits. I don’t drink alcohol at all so I gave up soft drinks for the month. I’ve mostly continued with it this month as well. I might have finally broken my diet coke addiction. Unfortunately, July was particularly busy at work and I might have overcompensated for dry July with too much chocolate. The nice new quick dry, lightweight clothing I bought for our holiday only just fitted by the time we left home. Most of my training also fell away due to work commitments, holiday packing, parkrun planning and poor time management.

At least this was an incentive not to overeat while away from home – I had absolutely no wriggle room in my trousers. Fortunately, three weeks into our trip I can still wear them all.

Some of what I’ve seen during my “runs” is similar to what I see at home (eg houses and horses).

image

The biggest difference I’ve noticed is the lack of dogs. I haven’t had a single dog bark at me, or charge through a yard to the fence scaring the life out of me. I’ve only seen one dog off a lead and it was trotting along contentedly behind its owner rather than freaking me out by running around my feet waiting to be called off by its owner. I saw some squirrels too! (Sorry I haven’t worked out the cropping within the wordpress app and if I crop them elsewhere they get out of order for some reason.)

image

Wrexham, Wales

image

Rabbit in Killarney, Ireland

I use the phrase “morning runs” loosely. They all took place in the mornings but sometimes there wasn’t much running. I’ve lost a lot of fitness/stamina in the last few months and am struggling to run more than 500m at a time. I also stopped to take A LOT of photos or check my GPS. My average pace for the fastest “run” was 7:42. Most have been around 9 or 10 minutes per km. When I walk, I walk slowly. Other people walk almost as fast (or faster) than my jogging pace. Having said that, we’ve done a lot of walking during the days as well as stair climbing in castles and so on.

image

Newcastle, England

I climbed to the top of this hill in Holyrood Park in Edinburgh during free time too.

image

image

image

image

image

Aside: one of the highlights of the trip was finally seeing heather in the wild. I always thought it was Scottish but we’ve seen it throughout Ireland and Wales as well.

image

image

Amazing! We are already in England!

image

Early morning in Strathpeffer, Scotland

image

Still a lot of evidence of Commonwealth Games in Glasgow

image

Ennis, Ireland

image

Killarney, Ireland

We had a nice walk along the rocky beach at Tramore as well.

image

I liked these bike racks at Tramore too.

image

This was printed on a bridge in Dublin. (sorry about rotation)

image

image

Cruise ship in Dublin Port

A park in Wrexham (Wales) had an area set aside for training exercises and the side of the football field had a few lanes marked for 100m sprints (they stopped partway down the field).

image

image

We stopped for lunch yesterday in Bluith Wells and they also had a public gym (sort of).

image

In other news, I have renewed my Triathlon Australia membership and am still considering the sprint distance triathlon at Forster in November. I haven’t signed up yet.

If you are interested (no obligation) more details about my holiday are on my other blog Hunters Holidaying.

5 responses »

  1. Love the photos, looks like you’ve had an amazing trip. And well done on the dry July, soft drink is a bit of a killer with the calories. I cut it out years ago and haven’t looked back (just had the very occasional tonic water these days). Looking forward to hearing more about your tri training, I’m always so impressed with what you’re doing. The sprint distance sounds good!

    • Sorry – I didn’t see your comment for some reason. I ended up back on diet coke when we got home and I went back into “work mode” but a friend mentioned OcSober so today is day one going off it again. I know I feel better when I haven’t been drinking it but that doesn’t stop me for some reason. Going to give it a good shot this time. 🙂

  2. Pingback: I ran a marathon | The Tri Road

Leave a comment

