One year on

I realised tonight, that today is the first anniversary of me having a triathlon coach. My first program started in June 2013. At that time, I could barely swim 20m without gasping for air. Last month I completed my first Sprint distance triathlon (750m/20km/5km).

I know my coach would say that I was did the hard work and put in the effort, but there is NO WAY I could have achieved what I did without her guidance, direction and moral support.

Triathlon is not the highest priority in my life, it is simply a hobby. At times an expensive one too. So I don’t have time to plan out my training and if left to my own devices I would probably only run.

As it was, I skipped every swim session for the first 7 months on my program! Imagine how much better my swim leg would have been if I had that additional 7 months of swimming under my belt!

I have a new pair of running shoes (same as my old ones, but in a different colour this time) and am also reading the book Racing Weight by Matt Fitzgerald (cover picture from Amazon.com below).

While still trying to balance time to spend with my husband, work, training, church, SES, toastmasters, and everything else I’m involved in, I am going to step up my efforts in relation to eating healthily. While this book is designed for endurance athletes (I don’t qualify!), I believe the basic concepts still apply.

newsneakers

New sneakers: Altra Intuition 1.5.

In other news… Tamworth parkrun looks set to launch in the next couple of months (after I get home from a planned holiday in August). Before that, I am doing Miss Muddy in Brisbane at the end of this month. Hopefully I’ll manage to pop into a Queensland parkrun as well if we don’t get in too late on the Friday night.

I found these on the Miss Muddy facebook page. They both seem to apply to my life at the moment.

Until next time… train smart, and avoid injury!

Heather

2 responses »

    • Thank you! 🙂 Yes, I’m happy with what I’ve achieved but wonder how much more I might have achieved if I’d fully committed to my program. Hopefully I won’t have those same thoughts this time next year. I want to arrive at that point knowing I couldn’t have done more.

Leave a comment

