Made it to Melbourne

A big welcome to all the new followers of my blog. I hope you continue to enjoy reading about my journey and that you’ll be sharing some of yours. I’m looking forward to checking out your blogs soon too.

As predicted, I reached the end of my training tracker. I have virtually run/walked/cycled/swum/rowed all the way from Sydney to Melbourne.

When I got up this morning I had 3.1km to go. Then I rode 18.5km and followed it up with a 1.3km run/walk.

made it

I’ve gone 16.7km too far. What am I going to do with it? Should I head back to Sydney? Should I continue across to Perth? That might take a while!

I needed two years to travel 851.6km. Should I aim for Melbourne to Port Augusta by the end of 2014? That’s 1031.1km.

startmelbourne

 

Training this morning.

1 hour bike:

Erratic cadence but faster than usual.

image

 

10 minute run off the bike:

Hmmm. Didn’t really happen. Extra incentive to get the cleats going for the bike. Take a load off the quads and get the glutes working.

image

6 responses »

  1. Congratulations Heather! I am soooooooooo proud of you. I can’t even THINK that I’ll “join” you in Port Augusta!Love, Mum

  2. Well done! I enjoy reading your blog. Yes I say aim for Port Augusta but Perth eventually. What a great challenge to help with your training!! I did a solo cycle tour across Australia 18 years ago, cycling from Melb to Perth!!! Maybe I will relive it with a virtual one too πŸ™‚

    Im participating in my first triathlon this weekend – Tri Pink in Melbourne.

    • Thanks Karyn. WOW – a “real” cycle tour, that’s HUGE! I’m impressed. I hope you’ll enjoy Tri Pink. I’m sure you will. I did two on the Gold Coast and it’s a wonderful atmosphere. A great option for a first time. Have fun!

Leave a comment

