Failed again.

Those of you who’ve been following for a while, might remember my last attempt at cooking the 12WBT quinoa porridge and banana: cookingfail

I tried it again this morning:

Cookingfail3

Not quite as bad and no smoke detectors set off but still nowhere near edible. Maybe I shouldn’t try and do something for those few minutes while I’m waiting for it to cook.

I can’t even get the quinoa to turn translucent. Should I add more water? Cook for longer? Give up completely?

cookingfail2

I ended up eating my fall-back breakfast of cereal and milk. It never fails.

My two running buddies both bailed on me at 5.30am today but I still got up and ran. Since I was on my own, I decided to “up the ante” a bit and started in at week 2 of the B210K app (bridge to 10K) which is the follow on from C25K from the same developer. I managed to do it too!

When I got home I had received my training program from MY COACH. Now I sound serious – no excuses anymore. Working primarily on running, for Sutherland 2 Surf but also starting some swimming and cycling in preparation for my next triathlon. It was off to the gym with the heated pool at lunch today to buy a 20 visit pass. First swim tomorrow.

The alarm is set for 4.45am. So why am I on a computer at 10.20pm?

Have a great week!

Heather

4 responses »

  1. We can give it a try at the weekend if you like… πŸ™‚ I haven’t tried THAT recipe yet, but I have tried the quinoa in a tabouli… it worked fine but I didn’t know what it was supposed to taste or look like! πŸ˜€ Love, Mum

  2. HA! I remember that banana photo πŸ™‚ Honestly I think this breakfast is pretty gross anyway, the breakfast crumble is way nicer and no oven involved! But the quinoa grains supposed to get little “tails” when it’s ready, maybe more water & longer? And with the lid on so that all the water is absorbed rather than evaporating.

    • Ah. So I should totally ignore the directions on the packet, wing it, and hope for the best? LOL Will try your suggestions next time. If there is a next time. The crumble was definitely more palatable and felt quite decadent this morning! Yummo.

Leave a comment

