How I Learned to Overcome My Fear Of Running and Learned to Love the 5k

Okay, to be honest, I’m not quite there yet but I’m willing to bet the title got your attention. Unfortunately, it’s not mine to take credit for.

Here is a great post on another blog I’ve recently started reading. It explains the c25k (couch to 5k) program I am doing at the moment with lots of extra hints and tips to get you to the end of the program and running 5km.

How I Learned to Overcome My Fear Of Running and Learned to Love the 5k.

7 responses »

  1. Very convincing title though lol. I used the fartlek method to lead up to my 10km but I can’t say I LOVE running like I love…Hmmm…say chocolate Hahaha…but I am loving it more each week.

    • The title was a play off of the movie Dr. Strangelove or how I stopped worrying and learned to love the bomb. That is the movies full title.

      • Its an oldy but goody. Movie directed by Stanley Kubrik, staring peter sellers and George C. Scott. Based on the book red alert by Peter George I think. Really good movie, a social comentary on nuclear proliferation and the cold war.

    • I know I’ve read about the fartlek method before but I will need to do some research – I don’t remember what it is. Had a good run/jog this morning. Stay tuned for my next post. πŸ™‚

      • Fartlek’s are basically Swedish for speed play. It’s basically an unstructured way of doing speed intervals. Often done in a group, but can be done alone, you pick something that will act as impetus for a speed interval. i use subdivision intersections, telephone poles, ect. The idea is that it is variable speed work. Makes things more interesting and simpler for newer runners.

Leave a comment

