When will I learn?

Aargh!

8 weeks into my second round and I’ve fallen back into bad habits: drinking very little water, and eating chocolate almost every day.

After weeks of hard, high intensity, moderate intensity exercise and semi-thought-about meals, why is it that just one bad week can undo five weeks of downward trend?

This week I have chosen sleep over exercise some mornings although Saturday I burned the most calories in a SSS since I started the 12WBT last June. We’ve also had a few meals “out” where I obviously haven’t chosen wisely or restrained myself enough.

stats4

Some of this week’s gain can be attributed, once again, to a lack of forward planning, and weekends too full of other things (eg SES training courses) to cook ahead for the coming week.

Last Thursday I managed to slot in some cooking time and I now have a couple of soup and lasagne serves in the freezer.

This coming weekend is a mini-milestone event (mini-triathlon) which comes with its own challenges such as a 7.5 hour drive on Saturday, then the same again on Monday. Sitting in the car doing nothing is when I am tempted to eat and drink. Primarily for something to do – not to ward off hunger.

I have a friend coming with me for the “road trip” who I haven’t seen for a very long time so I’m hoping the “catching up” and general chatter will take my focus off food. More time talking = less time shovelling food in.

I will be doing the fitness re-test on Friday morning instead of Saturday. I couldn’t face getting up early to do it and then just sitting in a car for that long. And I don’t want to wake up stiff and sore on Sunday. I’ll be nervous enough as it is! Once the swim is done and dusted I’ll be fine… all those feet and hands flying around. [cue: shiver] Just the thought of it, even now, makes me feel sick. My goal for the event is to beat my time of 43 minutes, 43 seconds from last year on the same course.

My travel buddy is considering signing up for the event too. If she does, and if she would prefer that we go around together, I’ll do that instead. One of the aims of the event is, after all, to have fun and just get women moving. Of course, it’s entirely likely that doing the course together will actually give me a quicker time than I’d have on my own. I’ll just have to wait and see.

On that note, I’ll sign off for the day. I have to be at work by 7 and it’s after 6 already. I may not have a chance to update you on my fitness test results until I return from my little journey interstate so I’ll see you on the other side!

Heather

4 responses »

  1. I never even registered for the tri, or tried to ride my husbands bike.. or even bought swimmers to wear swimming! Something tells me it’s not going to happen this time, starting my new job and everything just got in the way 😦 Good luck, I hope you have a blast.

    • Thanks. It should be fun and the weather should be cooler than here at home. So weird – snow last week (nearby) and 30°+ this week! Enjoy the 5km if you end up doing that. There’s one this weekend at the pinkie tri – you could do that one for fun as prep for the corporate one. 🙂

  2. Don’t be so hard on yourself! Looking at your chart, you’ve had many more good weeks than bad weeks. Change doesn’t happen overnight. Have fun at your mini tri!

    • Thanks. Yes, you’re totally correct but it’s so easy to become frustrated with oneself isn’t it? Soooo looking forward to the tri. It’s been a whole year since I did my last one.

Leave a comment

