Another cooking fail

Weigh in Wednesday today. I didn’t lose but I didn’t gain so that’s okay. Stay the same is much better than a gain and it’s only day three.  Part of the problem this week is lack of sleep. I’ve read a lot recently about lack of sleep contributing to weight gain. I had two very late nights on Sunday and Monday nights. I’ve had 4-5 hours sleep the past 3 days. I’ve managed to stay within my calories though. Only went to the gym on Monday. No time to even consider exercise yesterday until about 11.30pm and by then I decided sleep was more important since work was starting at 6.45am today…

Cooked pork for the first time today (I think – I don’t remember cooking it before but anything could have happened this time last round!) It was quite nice. We were supposed to have a dessert treat tonight but once again I had a cooking fail. And the recipe didn’t even call for cooking – it only needed refrigeration.

There’s a debate about whether one of the ingredients is cocoa powder or cacao powder. At the moment, that’s irrelevant. I tried to make the slice which also called for fresh dates. Hmmm. I’d never bought them before either. It would have been helpful if the recipe included a tip to remove the seeds from the dates! I didn’t think of that. I think I nearly blew up my food processor! This is a combination of cocoa powder, walnuts and fresh dates which is supposed to look like cake crumbs… Can you pick the date seeds from the walnuts?

dates

Once I realised what I’d done I tried it again. I only had five dates left so I don’t think the mix was as moist as it needed to be. I just ate one. For some reason, I always forget that cocoa doesn’t taste sweet and this tasted like it was almost 100% cocoa. At least I don’t have to worry about going back for more!

This was a particularly expensive fail. Dates were around $20/kg, I used almost a whole (small) tin of cocoa and a lot of (not cheap) walnuts with nothing really to show for it at the end. However, I’ve left the rest of it in the fridge and maybe it will set further overnight. The pieces we ate tonight almost fell apart in our hands. Well, his did. Mine was shovelled in so fast it didn’t have a chance!

slice

Why are so many recipes written for cooks? Do you know of any cookbooks with basic instructions? I bought Jamie Oliver’s 30 Minute Meals book a few years ago. In theory, it’s really good. It has full meals (3 courses mostly) but the instructions are given in chronological order for all the dishes, not each dish separately. It takes all the guesswork out of the timings.

I tried a couple of the meals with moderate success. Perhaps it’s time to try them again, now that I’m feeling more adventurous with foods. Most of his recipes and too many ingredients I wasn’t familiar with. Or imprecise measurements like “a glug of oil” or “a splash of”. Measurements – give me measurements. And what kind of instruction is “season to taste” when you don’t know what it’s supposed to taste like?

6 responses »

  1. Oh no haha! I haven’t even tried to make these but I think cacao and cocoa are different, not sure if that would’ve made a difference as they’re both powdery? I didn’t have much success with Jamie’s 30 min meals, they took me at least twice that long and I used every pot and pan I owned for one dinner! But his Ministry of Food book is aimed at teaching people to cook who have never cooked before, and the instructions and pictures are great. The idea is cool too, there was a tv series that went with it where he wanted to teach people to cook 2 recipes and pass it on to someone else who’s never cooked, and so on 🙂

    • Yep. Gotta laugh! I will look into the Ministry of Food book once I’m done with 12WBT. My kitchen looked like a bombzone after the 30 minute meals too. Food tasted great though!

  2. I sigh and hang my head once more…. your poor, deprived upbringing did NOT include pork more than a dozen times. 😦 … (sorry). It had something to do with the limited menu served in our home: 1) EEW YUCK!; 2) I DON’T LIKE IT!! and 3) Oh! 😦 … NOT THAT AGAIN…!!! (smirk! wink! ha! ha!) all of which seemed to be usual fare for the household with its unusual combination of extended family members.
    I am sooooooooooooo happy that you are “in the kitchen” experimenting with menus and their “surprise” ingredients.
    Looking forward to hearing more. Love, Mum

    • Sorry it took me so long to reply. I was offline for a few weeks on holidays. 🙂 I’m sure we’re not the only ones. Thanks for making time to comment.

Leave a comment

