Measuring Up

The moment of truth has arrived. I measured up this morning.

Weight
Chest
Waist
Upper Arms
Thighs
Widest part of hips

There were some really scary numbers there. Waist = 98cm! I think it was 91 or 92 last time I measured it. One of my main goals is to get that under 80cm. Or maybe the 92 is on my natural waist but for 12WBT we measure on the belly button line.

Do you want to know what I found hardest about this task? Probably not, but I’m going to tell you anyway. The hardest part was letting everything hang out. I’m so used to holding it all in that I almost do it subconsciously. No wonder I’m shocked when I see photos of me when I’m relaxed. Those are the times I must forget to hold it in.

I had to ask Mr K to take my official “before” photos today. A couple of times I had to ask him to take another one because I would realise that I’d been holding my tummy in… Ooops.

I’ve (he’s) taken the official bra and shorts one for the 12WBT program but I also asked him to take more with one of my exercise tops on for the purpose of putting it on ‘the web’. I don’t want people who know me to picture me in all my guts and glory whenever they see me in real life.

It’s kind of funny though – I always thought the shorts I wore were too short and almost indecent. I only ever wear them to run and always have leggings underneath. Not that they’ve had a lot of use yet. Now that I’ve seen the photos I realise they do cover my thunder-thighs.

magI don’t usually buy magazines or newspapers. When I got home I realised I’d chosen this particular magazine because of the super speedy slice recipes. It’s so easy to slip into old thought patterns isn’t it?

I’ve set up a ‘Gallery’ page to record my progress in photos. You can find it using the link on the menu above.

2 responses »

  1. Go Heather! I’m actually looking forward to getting back into eating properly/exercising again… I have been so slack. Can’t wait to see how you go. Looking forward to seeing your progress – hopefully it’ll motivate me again xx

Leave a comment

