Kitchen Makeover

Monday’s 12wbt challenge was to clear all the junk food out of the kitchen so it’s not there to tempt me anymore. This was a bit scary. I wasn’t sure what I would find. While I was at work, Mr K cleared out his Milo and Quik and hid it somewhere so I don’t know where it is and I’ll forget we have it. Thanks. Smile

Tonight I did the clear-out. It actually wasn’t that bad. The only things I had to toss were a packet of taco shells – over 12 months out of date (I’m SURE I’ve cleared the pantry out in that time), and a packet of microwave popcorn.

kitchen

It dawned on me that we’ve actually been pretty good with our grocery shopping. Over the past 12 months or so we’ve made a concerted effort to buy more healthy food and cook more meals from scratch (well, as scratch as I ever will).

However, it’s also made me realise that the problem is not what I keep in the pantry or buy with the regular groceries, it’s the incidental, impulse buys of chocolate bars and soft drinks. They are what kills my diet. We don’t keep biscuits in the house (not often anyway). We don’t store chips “just in case visitors pop in”. We don’t, because we have known for a long time that if we did, we’d eat it all before the visitors ever arrived.

The result:

  • I was pleased to see what progress we’ve made over the past 12 months
  • I am committed to cutting out the mid-afternoon or mid-morning (unhealthy) snacks

I’m looking forward to one day realising how much money I’m saving too by not buying chocolate bars at the servo when I fill up, or at the supermarket when I’m passing, or when the mobile coffee man makes his stop at the shop next door to my work. Coffee cup

More money to spend on my cruise which departs in 3 months 9 days and 17 hours. Apparently. Camera

2 responses »

  1. WOW!!!! I’m really impressed, Heather. What wonderful things to be able to write about! Congratulations especially on the ” … not buying and keeping in the house just in case visitors arrive….” bit. Can’t wait to see the new you. Weight-to-go Heather! Love, Mum

    • Thanks. We’ll have to see how it goes I guess. πŸ™‚ Had to make slices for an event yesterday. I even managed to throw out (most of) the edge bits I cut off to make it smooth – instead of saving them to eat myself. In the bin. Mr K has been great. He wanted snacks to eat while watching a DVD last night so he bought snacks he knew I wouldn’t go near. Eewwww. Licorice allsorts and chocolate bullets. :p

Leave a comment

