Challenges 1 & 2

This week was the start of pre-season, as I mentioned last time. The first challenge was to make a list of all the excuses I have ever used, still use, or am likely to use. It was about taking responsibility for my own results. The best trainer in the world can’t make me get results. I have to want it for myself.

I guess I didn’t dig very deep for that one. It’s funny, I tend to over-analyse pretty much everything. Except myself. Self-analysis is something I don’t do. I find it really hard to do. If I’m grumpy, I can’t usually tell you why, I just am. So having to be honest and dig deep for something that is more than just a throw-away line is difficult.

Initially, my list of excuses looked something like this:

  • I’m too tired.
  • I’m not motivated.
  • I’m too busy.
  • I’m too unfit.

All examples Michelle gave in her video introduction to the challenge. Some time later, I managed to add:

  • I’ll do twice as much tomorrow to make up for it.
  • I’m going to pass out if I keep going (this might not be an excuse for some people but I seriously doubt I ever really pushed myself to that point).
  • I had an SES callout.

The next step was to write solutions to overcome these excuses. For example, when I think “I’m too unfit” I need to tell myself that it’s not about being fast or running a marathon, I just need to start moving, and keep moving.

I can stop reading quite so many books and spend the time at the gym. If I exercise when I can, instead of procrastinating, it won’t matter as much when the weather turns bad and I need to respond to SES.

The second challenge tied in pretty nicely with this post from last month. The challenge was to set SMART goals for the next 12 months, then break them down into less intimidating six month, three month and one month goals.

In the interests of accountability, here are my goals (and how I plan to achieve them):

Time Frame

Goal

What I’ll do to achieve it

1 month

Lose 2kg.
Swim 75m non-stop. (3 laps in 25m pool)
Ride 2.5km non-stop (I can do this already but not straight after a swim or followed by a run)
Run 500m non-stop.
I am already running 200m stints on the treadmill so will gradually build up distance.
Follow 12WBT food and exercise plans. No excuses. Just do it.
Drink more water.
Eat less chocolate.
Cook meals ahead (and freeze) for the nights I know I won’t be home for dinner.
Get back to the pool. Use my pass before it expires*.
Delegate more so I have more time for me.

3 months

Lose 5kg.
Swim 200m non-stop.
Ride 5km non-stop.
Run 1.5km non-stop.
Follow 12WBT program completely. No cheating on myself.
Register for Tamworth Fun Five in August.
Continue planning and cooking ahead.
Delegate even more. ๐Ÿ™‚

6 months

Lose 10kg.
Swim 400m non-stop.
Ride 10km non-stop.
Run 3km non-stop.
Swimming lessons, bike rides as part of training schedule, eat healthily.
Renew membership of Tamworth Triathlon Club.
Register for the long course at the Triathlon Pink event on the Sunshine Coast on 27th November 2012 (300m swim, 9km bike, 3km run)

12 months

Lose 20kg.
Complete a sprint distance triathlon (750m swim, 20km bike, 5km run).
Implement a healthy eating plan, find a training program, take swimming lessons, participate in local triathlon club events next season to get used to group swims.Register for Trishave Womens Triathlon Festival in March 2013 – Sprint Distance (This is actually 10 months from now, not 12. It will also be two years since I did my first triathlon there: the “Try-a-Tri” mini triathlon.)
2 years Olympic Distance Triathlon
(1500m swim, 40km bike, 10km run)
3 years Hike the Kokoda Track with Kokoda Chicks for breast cancer research fundraising

* Last July I purchased a 20-visit pass to a local pool. I have 17 visits remaining and it expires in just under two monthsโ€ฆ Sad smileย ย Crying face

Sorry this is so long-winded. Thanks for sticking with me to the end. I’ll try to keep future posts shorter. (One challenge at a time would be plenty, I’m sure!)

Heather

6 responses »

  1. Hi Heather! Thanks so much for your support. Your goals are terrific, and yes, you can do this! Swimming is on my “when i feel comfortable in a pair of togs” goal list. hehe

    If you find it hard to sacrifice reading to go to gym, you could always download an audio book and listen to that while you are working out? I do that with uni lectures – it’s not quite the same as working out to motivating music, but it kills two birds with one stone.

  2. Okay Heather, your goals are overwhelming me!!! lol but they do sound awesome and I’m sure you’ll conquer them just like you’ll eventually conquer climbing the Kokoda!! Best of luck!!! Can’t wait to read your updated progress!

  3. Oh, and I LOVE the idea of pre-cooking and freezing some “on-the-go” meals. So much healthier (and more food!) than frozen dinners … thanks for the innovative idea!

    • It works too. I won’t be in for dinner for the next three nights due to other commitments. This afternoon I made double batches of some freezable meals (I tried out some recipes from my new Michelle Bridges cookbooks!). They have all been separated into single serves in the fridge or freezer. I’ve made a note on the fridge to take out two serves on Tuesday night ready for Wednesday night (one for me, one for Mr K). The others are ready for next week when I know I’ll have some nights that neither of us will be able to cook… Fortunately I’m not a big foodie (other than chocolate) so I don’t get too bored eating the same meals so closely together. I’ve also bundled up my cruskits into packs for lunch, and little containers of rice crackers and almonds, pre-measured. All I have to do in the morning is grab one pack of each thing and I’m set. ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking forward to a stress free week of healthy eating. Just have to work on the exercise now.

Leave a comment

