SMART goal

Over the years, I have come across the concept of SMART goals a number of times. I’ve even taught it! Why is it then, that the goal I have on my “about me” page is simply this:

“Couch potato with a goal: finish an olympic distance triathlon.”

It’s Specific, Measurable, Attainable (in theory), and Relevant but it’s not Time-framed. So, my new (SMART) goal is to finish an olympic distance triathlon before my 40th birthday. And the clock is ticking. I turned 37 yesterday. I only have three years to whip myself into shape.

I actually managed to get through today without even a mouthful of diet coke. I must admit, I did have a chunky kit-kat and a box of smarties though. In the www.12wbt.com forums tonight, I came across this picture that someone had posted. I don’t know where it came from so I can’t credit it. (NB: I don’t generally use the “c” word but I can’t change it here.)

Another one I like is “Don’t reward yourself with food. You’re not a dog.

I know I’ve often thought “I’ve blown it so I might as well not bother. I’ll start again tomorrow.” Hopefully now, I’ll think of this and realise that I don’t have let it go that far.  Have you ever had days when you think like that? Have you managed to overcome it? How?

Well, I’m off to edit my about me page…

8 responses »

  1. I think we all have days like that…. I know I do. I did however learn something whilst I was doing weight watchers and it kinda works for me… One year, I was losing weight quite well until Easter came along and over the easter weekend (well week) i managed to put on one kilo (from waaaay too much chocloate). I then decided to not let it worry me and when back to healthy eating for about a week – 10 days and that kilo came back off…. my theory is that for every shocker day you have it only take 1-2 days (depending on how bad you were 😉 to get back to a clean slate agin. This really helped me because I knew if I blew it one day all I needed to do was have a couple of good ones to follow and I was no worse off. In order to keep losing weight you need the good days to outnumber the bad. It works for me, both mentally and physically – maybe it might work for others.

  2. Pingback: It looks like I’m smashing my phone…. | Wonderfully Wired

  3. Pingback: Dreams revisited | The Tri Road

Leave a comment

