To tell or not to tell

I am currently reading Secrets of a Former Fat Girl by Lisa Delaney. At one point, she recommends not telling the people you know that you’re dieting/exercising/trying to lose weight. Her argument is that most of us have more than enough little voices in our head telling us what we should and shouldn’t be eating/doing and making ourselves feel guilty. We don’t need a “significant other” or friend to ask “do you really think you should be eating that?” or “is that on your diet?”.

What do you think? Is it better to tell people so they can support you, or do you secretly work on it under the cover of darkness and hope no-one notices until you’re well on the way to where you want to be?

I tried to join the gym secretly but when I went to pick up my access pass ย I knew two other people in the foyer. They had also hoped to join without anyone knowing.

The reason I ask, is I’ve just signed up for this year’s Round 2 of Michelle Bridges’ 12WBTย (12 week body transformation). Obviously, I’ve just made that relatively public, since it’s on my blog but I only have 4 followers so it’s notย really “out there”. How many people do I tell, if any? Do I just wait for people to say ‘wow, what have you been doing?’ or should I tell people to keep myself accountable. I’ll know (think) they’re looking at me thinking “gee, it’s not working for her, she mustn’t be sticking to it”.

I’m not in it just for weight loss (although that would be a definite bonus) I want to change my lifestyle. I want to be fit and healthy. I want to run around with nieces and nephews without keeling over and climb the stairs at work without needing a few moments to recover. I want to be able to finish each race at my local club in the next triathlon season. Each time more quickly than the last.

I have a deadline. I want to be fit and healthy by the time I’m 40. I figure it’s going to be a whole lot harder to achieve if I leave it any longer than that. That’s three years and 10 days from now. Plenty of time to get there but only if I start now.

Click on image to go to source

Have you completed the 12wbt program? I’ve chosen this one because it seems to be more than just an exercise and diet plan. There is a big focus on getting your (my) head in the right spot. That’s my biggest downfall. I know that I should exercise. I know what is good to eat and what is not, but I still sit down in the evenings eating chocolate and drinking (diet) coke, watching The Biggest Loser. I ask you, what is wrong with that picture?

So, what do you think? To tell or not to tell?

7 responses »

  1. Thanks for the book tip! I’m going to read the book just because I love the title. However, I would disagree with Lisa. I’ve found that sharing my journey does 2 things: 1) people are so kind and generous with their encouraging words; and 2) I believe that the act of hiding boomerangs in our heads and actually deivers the message that we’re unsafe, which in turn tells our body to keep the weight — as a kind of psychological protection. Does that make sense? Curiously, when I first went public with my blog, I lost 5 pounds that week!
    You and I have a lot in common. I used to do triathlons (loved the variety!), I want to feel fit by the time I’m 40 (today’s my 39th birthday.) And, we’re both on the way to being our best selves! Feel free to check out my blog at http://www.100poundsin1year.wordpress.com. Shelby

    • Thanks Shelby, triathlon is the only sport I’ve ever really done (besides tenpin bowling) and I think I like the fact that you don’t have to be great at anything, you can be okay at all three disciplines and still cross a finish line and feel good. Thanks for your feedback and thoughts – and happy birthday! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thanks Amummy, I am sure to mention it in upcoming posts once it really kicks off in June. So, if it still sounds good to you, maybe you could do the next round later in the year. Or, there’s still time to sign up for this one. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment

