Pick yourself up off the floor…

I have joined a gym. Yes, you read that correctly. Now, you may close your mouth and pick yourself up off the floor. I haven’t been a member of a gym for several years. Maybe even 7 or 8 years.

Almost four months have passed since I last wrote a post. That was 2 days before I attended my first Tamworth Tri Club meeting. The meeting was interesting and it was nice to see how everything worked before trying it for myself. I’ve either had something on, or I’ve chickened out and haven’t been back. Their final race for the season is on Saturday 24th March. I’m going to go. And enter. And finish.

I’m a little concerned that I might not manage the 100m swim (it’s an enticer distance). The 5km bike ride should be okay. The 1km run will also be a challenge.

Now that I’ve joined the gym though, I’m hoping it will all become a bit easier.

We have a home gym full of equipment but usually when I feel the urge to do something, my husband Mr K is already in bed asleep so I don’t do anything. The gym I joined is a 24 hour gym so last night I went on my way home from Toastmasters and finished working out at about 11.45pm. Tonight I got home at about 11pm after my gym session. It’s so convenient. I hope I can keep it up. I’ve managed to get there 5 times in the last week and a half. I have my official orientation tomorrow so I might learn how to use some of the other pieces of equipment. I’ve stuck to cardio and 4 or 5 recognisable weight/resistance machines.

My home gym

So, 24th March is the day. I WILL be a competitor. I WILL finish. Even if I have to walk the run leg.

3 responses »

  1. OUCH! I hurt my back when I was picking myself up from the floor! πŸ™‚ Seriously, though, I’m VERY proud of you and your determination. I look forward to hearing about your exploits both at the gym, and at the triathlon meet on 24th March. Love you, Mum

Leave a comment

