Three days out

Three days out from my next mini-triathlon. I finally went for a swim on Tuesday and was able to try out my lap counter. It worked pretty well, except I must have missed one ‘click’ and ended up with 9 laps showing which meant I’d actually done 10… I only needed to do 8 laps of the 25m pool to know that I could definitely swim the 200m leg of Sunday’s tri. I really wanted to know what kind of time I’d be looking at so I reset the counter and swam another 8 laps. I swam 450m in total. Not bad since I haven’t swum since June or early July. I had an average time of 50 seconds per 25m though which sounds really slow but I have nothing to compare it to since I’ve never timed myself before. I’m sure it’s slower than most.

It doesn’t matter. My goal for Sunday is to still be able to walk when I finish. I also managed to go for a run on Monday morning. I have read that you should taper off the training in the lead up to an event. How do you taper if you haven’t really been training anyway? I was planning to up the training this week, particularly since it’s such a short distance. Tuesday was a LONG day. At the gym and in the pool by 7am, then to work, then to my volunteer work, off to visit someone in hospital and got home after midnight. Could. Not. Get. Out. Of. Bed. Wednesday. Morning.

Dragged myself off to work but have had training in the use of a new software program yesterday and today. Needless to say I haven’t felt very active. Tossing up whether I should try and exercise tomorrow morning but I’m leaning toward a ‘sleep in’ since we have to drive 6 hours to get to where we’re staying Saturday night before the big day on Sunday. Only to turn around and drive the 6 hours home again on Monday. The upside? We get a long weekend. 🙂

This is the event that started my interest in triathlon and despite my inadequate virtually non-existent training regime, I am really looking forward to it.

Leave a comment

