Extraordinary

This is the kind of post that inspires me to just get on with it. Ordinary people complete an ironman course all the time. Surely I can finish an olympic distance triathlon!

One of the slogans/catchphrases for the SES is “ordinary people doing extraordinary things”.

I gave a speech at Toastmasters on Monday night about the Toastmasters Competent Leadership program. My opening was “The difference between ordinary and extraordinary is that little extra. I love that saying.”

My close was “Billy Joel said: “I am… merely competent. But in an age of incompetence, that makes me extraordinary.” Distinguish yourself by aspiring to excel. Don’t be a competent leader, be an extraordinary leader.”

Hmmm, sensing a bit of a theme here. Maybe it’s time for me to give that little bit extra in this area too.

2 responses »

  1. Oh wow Heather, I so wish you well with this.
    It challenges me SO much what you are doing. I have NEVER been able to run.
    I do love swimming and bike riding though.
    Love and hugs my friend.
    Lisa. xxx 🙂

    • Thanks Lisa, I really can’t run either (working on it) and I certainly don’t want to see any video footage of me trying! I might try and think of this girl while I’m running – if she can run a MARATHON after all the other stuff, surely I can run 2km…

Leave a comment

