Run like the wind?

It is now 8 weeks until my next (mini) triathlon. It’s almost so small I’m not sure it really counts. People seem s0 impressed when I mention that I’m doing a mini-triathlon that I feel I have to reiterate that it’s a very mini triathlon…

I have done no exercise for a week and a half. Tomorrow morning, I MUST start again. The week before, I was away visiting my parents. I went for two ‘runs’ that week. The second one was the run that made me realise I’d never run in windy conditions before. I actually thought I was running pretty well for the first half. Time was looking good and it felt like I had a Β fairly even rhythm happening. Then I turned around to head home! Oooph. There was a sea breeze. Coming at me. I ended up walking most of the way home. I just could. not. be. bothered. As a result, I’m really hoping that on October 23rd when I am running (and cycling) that there is not much wind.

My new motivational t-shirt

Having said that, if I discipline myself, and get back into ‘training’ this week, and continue until then, it shouldn’t be too much of an issue. I bought a t-shirt on sale yesterday ($3.86 – what a bargain). It’s going to be my ‘motivational’ shirt for the next little while. It says “you can change your spots”.

I CAN get up early each weekday morning and exercise.
I CAN eat less chocolate and drink less diet coke each week (day).
I CAN go to bed at a decent time each night.
I CAN make time to catch up with friends who’ve been long-neglected.
I CAN drink enough water each day.
I CAN finish this triathlon in a faster time than my first one (even though it’s slightly longer).
I CAN reach my fundraising goal of $500. I have received donations up to $425 to date. 8 weeks to go.

If you feel like donating, please head over here. If you’re an Aussie, then a donation of $2 or more will be tax deductible. πŸ™‚ All funds raised are for the National Breast Cancer Foundation. This page shows that the Triathlon Pink series has raised over $26,000 this year already. You can also check them out here on facebook.

Well, it’s 10pm and I AM going for a run in the morning before work, so I’m signing off for tonight. Until next time, thanks for reading, Heather.

Leave a comment

